Posted in Uncategorized

School Woes

So it’s January 2017…2017… 2 0 1 7. This year was supposed to be the year that I graduate. But, not anymore. Here’s why…

So of course you guys know that in 2014 I met Nicole. When I met her, I was attending Oakwood University in Huntsville, AL. Well, after my spring semester in 2015 I decided that I was not going to return to Oakwood. I would like to say that it had nothing to do with outside influences but it did. Honestly though, I didn’t like Oakwood and I actually still don’t. But, since I didn’t like it back then, I made that known to Nicole and other friends and they encouraged me to go to school, just don’t go back to Oakwood. So I didn’t. I had planned on going to a local community college and pursue a degree in Cosmetology. I was supposed to start in October 2015, but, as you all know (if you’ve been following my blog), I ended up moving to Atlanta in October so all school plans were put on the back burner.

After I got settled in Atlanta, I started to look at different schools and apply to some. I didn’t know when or how I was going to attend classes while working a full-time job as a teacher in a daycare, but I was willing to try it out. I wanted to start school in January 2016. Well, that didn’t happen. I ended up moving to Mississippi anyways.

So, after I got settled in Mississippi, I was determined to get back into school somehow. So I applied to Itawamba Community College. I got accepted and started taking a summer Spanish class. The summer came and went, I passed my class and I was ready to start fall classes. I registered for fall classes, got my schedule and my books. I was all set and ready to go. I finished up my fall semester and registered for spring classes early. Everything in the world of school was looking up for me. Until now.

A few weeks ago I found out that financial aid will only give you so much money to attend a community college. After you exceed a certain amount of credits at a community college, financial aid will no longer assist you. Since the credits that I have exceeds the limit, I had to find another school to go to. I chose the University of Mississippi since they have a campus close to where I live. But, I got a late start on my application process so I didn’t know how things were going to turn out. I was still going to push to get in though.

Classes at the University of Mississippi start on January 23rd. Today is January 23rd. Sadly, I didn’t have everything submitted on time to get into school this semester. I needed all of my transcripts from all the colleges I have attended. I’ve been to three but they only have two of my transcripts on file. They needed shot records and I had to take a TB test. I don’t have any updated shot records because at Oakwood, I was exempt from shots. The last time I had any kind of shots was on my 5th birthday. And, I found out on Thursday that I needed all this information. So that left me with one day to get everything done. Unfortunately, I was only able to get them two of my college transcripts on time. Everything else is still not done.

I feel kind of discouraged about this whole school process but I know that everything happens for a reason. Even though the reason may be unknown to me, God knows. I’ll just have to learn to wait and trust his timing. I know that He must have something greater in store for me. I just have to have patience. I’m still praying for His direction in my life. I really want to be in school so that I can finish the Social Work degree that I started in 2012. So, if you’re reading this, just send up a quick prayer for me. I know that if one door is closed, God is going to open up a window!

Author:

Just a young girl in a crazy world, taking things one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

