Things Are Looking Up

I know it’s been a minute since I last posted. I’m not going to lie and I’m not going to try to come up with excuses. I’ve been lazy. I’ve had the time to post, I just didn’t. So I guess I’ll have to get you caught up on my life lately.

As you know, I’ve been having a rough time with my transportation and school. Well, I’m pleased to say that I am finally back in school and I am on the road to graduation! My expected graduation date is October 2018. So I have about a year and a half left to conquer. I’m attending Southern New Hampshire University (SNHU) and I have to say, this is by far the BEST school that I have attended in my entire college career. The advisors really take their time with you and make sure you know exactly what you’re getting into. It’s really the best decision I’ve made, school wise. Since they don’t have a Social Work program, I have decided to just get my BA.GS degree with a concentration in Human Services. I’m so excited about how things are going so far! I’m in my third week of school and I have about seven weeks left before the next term starts. The next term will be more intense than this term I believe. This term I am only taking one class. Next term I’m going to bump it up a bit and take two courses. But, as far as school goes, I’m good in that department.

As for this car situation of mine…

I am SO much closer to getting my car now than I was the last time I posted. This is another thing that makes me excited just thinking about it. It’s been a long time coming but, hopefully by the end of April, I’ll have my car! I have literally been pinching pennies trying to save for my car. It’s not helping that my hours at work have been drastically cut (that’s a different story for a different time) but I have really been making progress with my savings. I set weekly and monthly saving goals. I save the majority of my checks and just about all of my tips. I don’t “splurge” as much as I used to. I’ve cut back on unnecessary spending, like eating out 3-5 times a week. Now, I only eat out once a week, if that. I’ve started cooking more and I’m actually eating healthier. Which brings me to my next point of excitement.

I got a gym membership! Again!

Last year in May, I got a membership at Planet Fitness. I went maybe 7 or 8 times then I cancelled my membership and stopped going. About 3 weeks ago, I decided that it was about that time for me to start exercising and lead a healthier lifestyle. So I got my membership again. This time, I’m set up with a personal trainer who I train with 2-3 times a week. If he’s not available, I’m still in the gym. I try to go at least 5-6 times a week. Since I’ve changed my eating habits and started going to the gym, I’ve lost 5lbs! No, it’s not much but it’s a start! That encouraged me to keep pushing! I must be doing something right!

I’m very happy with the way my life is changing and the new habits I’m forming. Another habit I probably need to form is posting regularly, right? We’ll see what happens but, until then, PEACE.

Leave a Reply

